New Zealand Campervan Insurance, Excess and Bonds: Every Rental Company Compared
Updated 17 September 2026 · 15 min read
The short answer
- Bond and liability
- Two different numbersA NZ$3,500 bond can sit over NZ$50,000 of rollover liability
- Default liability per claim
- NZ$2,500–NZ$7,500Before any upgrade, across 13 companies
- Cutting liability to nil
- NZ$35–NZ$84 a dayCheapest per company — and nil still leaves some damage with you
- Excluded at every tier
- Banned roads and breachesWater damage too, wherever the terms address it
- Debit card for the bond
- Depends on the companyTravellers Autobarn requires a credit card
- Your own travel insurance
- Changes nothing at the deskThe bond is still taken; you claim the money back later
The short version
The short version. Every New Zealand campervan rental includes some damage cover, and every one leaves you owing something after a claim — NZ$2,500 to NZ$7,500 per claim at the thirteen companies compared here, before you pay to reduce it. That figure, the excess or liability, is not always the amount held on your card. Travellers Autobarn holds NZ$3,500 but leaves you liable for up to NZ$50,000 after a single-vehicle rollover or a write-off, and Spaceships caps a write-off at NZ$18,000 above its NZ$5,000 bond. Read both numbers before comparing anything else.
Cutting the liability to nil — what booking pages often call zero excess — costs NZ$35 to NZ$84 a day, depending on the company and the vehicle, and most companies stop charging for it after 50 days; Wendekreisen sells no nil option at all. Even nil leaves some damage with you. No company covers damage on a road its contract bans or after a breach of the agreement, and every company whose terms address it excludes water damage. The four thl brands — Apollo, Britz, Maui and Mighty — leave windscreens and tyres out of their basic nil option, and Travellers Autobarn and Waka Campa never cover roof or underbody damage at any tier. The zero on the booking page is a zero for the damage the contract covers.
How the bond is taken varies as much as its size. Big Little Campers takes it as a payment 35 days before pickup, most others only hold it on your card, and JUCY's own website and booking terms disagree about which it does. Travellers Autobarn requires a Visa or Mastercard credit card for its bond, and Campervan Village waives its top-tier bond only when the hire is paid by credit card. Your own travel or excess insurance changes none of this at the desk: the bond is still taken, and you claim the money back afterwards. The tables below set each company's published terms side by side, as read on 17 September 2026, with worked fourteen-day examples.
Bond, excess and liability: three different numbers
Whatever a company calls its product — insurance, protection, liability reduction, excess reduction — what you buy at the rental desk is a limit on how much you owe that company after damage. It is part of the rental contract, not an insurance policy in your name. JUCY's terms say it directly: its excess reduction 'does not constitute travel insurance'. The vehicle is insured by the company; your contract decides how much of a repair bill comes back to you.
Three figures describe that limit, and at most companies two of them are the same. The liability, or excess, is the most you pay per claim for damage the contract covers. The bond is the amount the company secures before you drive away, so that it can collect that money. A third figure appears at only a few companies: a higher ceiling for particular damage, such as a rollover or a write-off, which the bond does not reflect at all.
- Liabilityexcess
- The most you owe per claim for damage the contract covers, usually whoever was at fault; several companies refund it if they later recover the cost from another driver, though Travellers Autobarn warns that such claims 'can take many months, sometimes years' to settle. The companies that say how they count it charge it per claim, not per rental, so two separate incidents can cost you twice.
- Bondsecurity deposit
- The money a company secures before you drive, so that it can collect the liability after damage. It is usually the same figure as the liability, and a nil option does not always remove it: JUCY still takes NZ$300 on a debit card under Comprehensive. The bond limits what is taken from your card, not what you can owe.
- Holdpre-authorisation
- The bank reserves the amount against your card and no money moves unless there is a claim. On a debit card the reserved amount is still your own money, unavailable until the hold is lifted, and lifting it can take a while: JUCY's website says 7 to 30 business days, depending on the bank.
- Chargedebit
- The money leaves your account and comes back as a refund after the rental. On a card in another currency the refund is converted again, and thl and Travellers Autobarn both warn that the amount can differ. Big Little Campers takes its bond this way, as a payment 35 days before the hire begins.
- Excess reductionwaiver
- The daily add-on that lowers the liability, often to zero, and usually the bond with it — also sold as liability reduction or protection. Each company names its options differently — High Road, Comprehensive, Stress-Free, Peace of Mind, Full Cover — and each leaves different damage out.
- Claims fee
- An administration charge per claim, on top of the liability. It runs from up to NZ$75 at the thl brands to NZ$190 at Travellers Autobarn, and JUCY and Star RV charge their NZ$125 fee even on their top option.
The ceiling survives the middle option
Where a company has a rollover or write-off ceiling above its bond, the cheaper upgrade lowers the ceiling without removing it. Travellers Autobarn's Protection Plus drops the bond to nil but still leaves up to NZ$10,000 after a rollover or write-off. Spaceships' Partial option leaves write-off liability of up to NZ$9,000 on its Estima-based vans, NZ$12,500 on the Sigma and NZ$15,000 on the VW Cosmo. Only the top option at either company clears it, so compare the ceiling on every option, not the hold.
What each company holds, and what you owe by default
| Company | Included cover | Liability per claim | Bond | How the bond is taken |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Apollo | Low Road | NZ$5,000 on the Hitop and Endeavour; NZ$7,500 on the five Euro models | No deposit in New Zealand | A card authority for the liability amount, recorded at pickup |
| Big Little Campers | Basic | NZ$5,000 on The Little One and The Big One; NZ$7,500 on The Biggest One | Same as the liability | Paid 35 days before pickup and refunded after return; a refund can take five or more business days |
| Britz | Low Road | NZ$5,000 on the HiTop and Voyager; NZ$7,500 on the Venturer, Wanderer, Odyssey and Navigator | No deposit in New Zealand | A card authority, recorded at pickup |
| Campervan Village | Standard Liability — sold through selected travel agents only | NZ$7,501 — the contract's cover table prints a dollar more than the bond. Direct bookings start at LR One (next table) | NZ$7,500; NZ$500 on LR One | A deposit or a pre-authorisation — the contract allows either |
| JUCY | Risk Taker | NZ$3,000 on the Crib; NZ$5,000 on the Chaser and Condo; NZ$7,500 on the Big Kahuna | Same as the liability | A hold, says its website; its booking terms say the bond is debited at pickup |
| Maui | Low Road | NZ$7,500 on every model | No deposit in New Zealand | A card authority for the liability amount, recorded at pickup |
| Mighty | Low Road | NZ$3,500 on MightyLITE and the vans without a shower; NZ$5,000 on the toilet-and-shower models | No deposit in New Zealand | A card authority for the liability amount, recorded at pickup |
| Spaceships | Basic | NZ$5,000, or up to NZ$18,000 for a write-off, on the Estima-based vans. Sigma: NZ$6,000 and NZ$25,000. VW Cosmo: NZ$7,500 and NZ$40,000 | Same as the basic liability, not the write-off figure | Frozen on the card the day before pickup; not charged unless there is a claim |
| Star RV | Risk Taker | NZ$7,500 on all three Polaris sizes | Same as the liability | As at JUCY: a hold on its website, a debit in its booking terms |
| Travellers Autobarn | Standard Protection | Up to NZ$3,500; up to NZ$50,000 for a single-vehicle rollover or write-off | NZ$3,500 | Pre-authorised for about 14 days, on a Visa or Mastercard credit card only |
| Waka Campa | Risk Taker | NZ$4,500, payable regardless of fault | Same as the liability | Pre-authorised a few days before pickup and held for the trip |
| Wendekreisen | Standard Insurance — compulsory, at NZ$25 a day | NZ$2,500 for drivers 25 and over; NZ$5,000 at 21 to 24 | Same as the liability | A credit card imprint, not charged if the van comes back as agreed |
| Wilderness Motorhomes | Standard Cover | NZ$7,500 | NZ$7,500 — but its own pages disagree on when it is taken | Its insurance page says the bond is authorised at signing; its contract says none is needed until damage occurs. Without a credit card, the bond is paid up front |
From each company's own terms, liability and help pages, read 17 September 2026. JUCY and Star RV figures apply to bookings confirmed or amended from 1 May 2026. Apollo, Britz, Maui and Mighty share thl's rental agreement. Mighty's liability page says that in New Zealand 'a deposit is not debited, but a credit card authority for the liability amount will be recorded at the time of pick-up', and Britz's says the same of its Low Road option; the debit-at-pickup wording on Maui's and Apollo's liability pages sits in a panel priced in Australian dollars.
Two patterns stand out. The default liability usually follows the vehicle: Apollo, Britz, Mighty, JUCY, Big Little Campers and Spaceships all set a higher figure on their larger or better-equipped models, while Maui, Star RV, Travellers Autobarn, Waka Campa and Wilderness apply one figure to the whole fleet. And the bond matches the liability almost everywhere, which is why a smaller hold usually means a smaller risk — Travellers Autobarn and Spaceships are the exceptions, because of their rollover and write-off ceilings.
Two companies also change the starting point. Wendekreisen's hire rates exclude its cover, which is compulsory at NZ$25 a day, so its lowest excess is not free. And Campervan Village's no-cost option is not sold on its own website, so a direct booking always starts with a paid option.
What excess reduction costs, company by company
| Company | Middle option | Top option | Liability on the top option | Charge stops after |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Apollo | None | High Road: NZ$55 a day on the Hitop and Endeavour, NZ$65 on the Euro models | Nil, except windscreens and tyres — NZ$15 a day more, or the Platinum Pack at NZ$80 or NZ$90 | 50 days |
| Big Little Campers | None | Premium: NZ$35 a day on The Little One and The Big One, NZ$50 on The Biggest One | Nil, and no bond | Not stated |
| Britz | None | High Road: NZ$55 a day on the HiTop and Voyager, NZ$65 on the other four | Nil, except windscreens and tyres — NZ$15 a day more, or the Platinum Pack at NZ$80 or NZ$90 | 50 days |
| Campervan Village | LR One, NZ$30 a day: NZ$500 bond, liability NZ$3,000 in a single-vehicle incident and NZ$500 with another vehicle. Cover One, NZ$45: the same bond, NZ$3,000 and NZ$1 | Cover Plus: NZ$55 a day | NZ$1, with no bond if the hire is paid by Visa or Mastercard credit card | 60 days (Cover One: 45) |
| JUCY | Essentials: NZ$35 a day on the Crib, NZ$50 on the Chaser and Condo, NZ$60 on the Big Kahuna — NZ$1,500 (Big Kahuna NZ$2,500), for panel damage only | Comprehensive: NZ$50, NZ$65 or NZ$75 a day, in the same order — with an extra driver, camping chairs and a table, a booster seat, a linen exchange and a gas bottle | Nil, plus the NZ$125 claims fee | 50 days |
| Maui | None | High Road: NZ$65 a day | Nil, except windscreens and tyres — NZ$15 a day more, or the Platinum Pack at NZ$90 | 50 days |
| Mighty | None | High Road: NZ$40 a day on MightyLITE, NZ$50 on vans without a shower, NZ$55 on those with one | Nil, except windscreens and tyres — NZ$15 a day more, or the Platinum Pack at NZ$70 or NZ$80 | 50 days |
| Spaceships | Partial: NZ$25 a day, NZ$30 from 1 October 2026 — NZ$3,000 bond, write-off liability up to NZ$9,000 | Stress-Free: NZ$35 a day, NZ$40 from 1 October 2026 | Nil, with no bond and no accident administration fee | 50 days |
| Star RV | Essentials: NZ$60 a day — NZ$2,500, for panel damage only. Windscreen and tyre cover NZ$15 a day extra | Comprehensive: NZ$75 a day | Nil, plus the NZ$125 claims fee | 50 days |
| Travellers Autobarn | Protection Plus: NZ$35 a day (station wagon NZ$30) — no bond, one front windscreen and two tyres, rollover and write-off liability up to NZ$10,000 | Value Pack: NZ$45 a day (station wagon NZ$35) — adds an extra driver and, on campervans, a chair per person, an outdoor table and prepaid gas | Nil, with a card imprint instead of a bond | 50 days |
| Waka Campa | None | Peace of Mind: NZ$45 a day | Nil, and no bond | Not stated |
| Wendekreisen | Standard with tyre and windscreen cover: NZ$35 a day in total — the same excess, nil on windscreens and tyres | Full Cover Package: NZ$45 a day in total | NZ$250, or NZ$2,500 at 21 to 24 — there is no nil option | 50 days: NZ$1,750 or NZ$2,250 per hire |
| Wilderness Motorhomes | Extra Cover: NZ$64 a day — NZ$500 | Full Cover: NZ$84 a day, with road user charges (New Zealand's per-kilometre charge on diesel vehicles), tolls and an LPG refill included | Nil | NZ$4,200, reached at 50 days |
From each company's published terms, read 17 September 2026. The thl prices (Apollo, Britz, Maui, Mighty) are for pickups to 31 March 2027; from 1 April 2027 each High Road rate rises by NZ$2 a day and the windscreen and tyre option to NZ$16. The thl Value Pack adds an extra driver, a camping kit and a linen exchange to High Road; the Platinum Pack adds windscreen and tyre protection and extended roadside assistance, with a 10-day minimum charge. JUCY's and Star RV's Essentials cap covers only a single-vehicle accident with body-panel damage alone, or an accident with a third party; any other damage reverts to the full liability. Spaceships' Sigma and VW Cosmo vans, added in September 2026, price Partial at NZ$40 and NZ$50 and Stress-Free at NZ$50 and NZ$60. Glass and tyre cover is also sold on its own: NZ$4.50 a day each at Travellers Autobarn (capped at NZ$112.50), and NZ$8 a day for Spaceships' Glass Cover (capped at NZ$320).
The cover is a flat daily fee, so its share of the bill grows as the hire rate falls. For scale, the table below is the typical daily hire rate by camper class from our live price collection.
| Camper category | Typical (median) per day | Common range per day | Live quotes |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2-person campers | NZ$212 | NZ$132–NZ$353 | 24,093 |
| Family (4+ berth) | NZ$313 | NZ$210–NZ$475 | 25,585 |
From 56,743 recent price checks across this market's rental companies — 10-day trips departing over the next twelve months, re-collected daily. The full distributions, month by month and company by company, are on the camper rental prices page. The cover prices above are added to these rates.
What stays with you, even on the top option
Some exclusions apply everywhere. No company covers damage on a road its contract bans, and none covers damage after a breach of the agreement — an unlisted driver, alcohol, negligence. Every company whose terms address it excludes damage from water: rivers, fords, flooded roads, beaches and salt water. Spaceships' terms put those costs on the hirer 'irrespective of your Insurance Option'. Lost keys, the wrong fuel and personal belongings are excluded almost everywhere as well.
The rest varies, and three kinds of damage account for most of the difference: windscreens and tyres, which Wilderness describes as 'very common' — it puts a replacement windscreen at up to NZ$1,000, Spaceships at NZ$700 — and the roof and underbody, the parts of a tall vehicle a driver cannot see. The table shows where each is covered.
| Company | Windscreens and tyres | Roof and underbody | Banned roads and road rules |
|---|---|---|---|
| Apollo, Britz, Maui, Mighty | Not covered by High Road or the Value Pack; covered by the Platinum Pack or the NZ$15-a-day add-on | Covered from High Road up | Sealed roads only, apart from campground access roads under 12 km. Banned: Skippers Road, Crown Range Road/Cardrona Valley Road, Ninety Mile Beach, Wanaka–Mt Aspiring Road beyond the Treble Cone turn-off, Ball Hut Road, and north of Colville and Waikawau. Ski-field roads banned 1 June–31 October |
| Big Little Campers | Covered on Premium; up to the bond on Basic | Not addressed in its terms | Ninety Mile Beach, north of Colville, Bluff Road between Kuaotunu and Matarangi, Skippers Canyon Road and Ball Hut Road |
| Campervan Village | Front glass on every paid option. Cover One adds two tyres; Cover Plus covers front and rear glass and four tyres | Cover Plus ticks roof damage but never underbody — and the contract's general exclusions list both | Sealed roads only, apart from access roads under 10 km to campgrounds or national parks. Banned: Ninety Mile Beach, Ball Hut Road, Crown Range Road and Skippers Canyon; beaches and sand at all times. NZ$300 for each unapproved trip into a restricted area |
| JUCY, Star RV | Covered on Comprehensive. On Star RV's two lower tiers it can be added for NZ$15 a day | Covered on Comprehensive, not on Essentials | No unsealed roads, apart from campground access roads under 12 km. Ninety Mile Beach, Ball Hut Road and Skippers Canyon Road are named as examples |
| Spaceships | Stress-Free only, or Glass Cover for the windscreen | Stress-Free only | Gravel roads allowed, with gravel damage covered on Stress-Free. Skippers Canyon Road, Ball Hut Road and Ninety Mile Beach void the cover |
| Travellers Autobarn | One windscreen and two tyres on either Protection Plus option, or NZ$4.50-a-day waivers | Never: awning, roof and underbody damage stays with the hirer at every tier | Sealed roads only, apart from access roads under 500 m to campgrounds and car parks. Banned: Ninety Mile Beach, Skippers Road, Crown Range Road, Ball Hut Road and the Coromandel north of Colville; ski-field roads 1 June–31 October. NZ$250 if the van is found to have been off-road, even without damage |
| Waka Campa | Windscreen repairs, tyres and flat batteries on Peace of Mind; punctures excluded on Risk Taker | Never, on either option | Skippers Road, Ninety Mile Beach, Ball Hut Road, Wanaka–Mt Aspiring Road beyond Treble Cone, and north of Colville and Waikawau |
| Wendekreisen | Nil excess on the NZ$35 and NZ$45 options | Damage from car parks and other man-made structures lower than the vehicle is never covered | Salt-water beaches, 4WD-only roads, Ninety Mile Beach, north of Colville and Waikawau, Bluff Road, Ball Hut Road, unsealed parts of Tasman Valley Road, Wanaka–Mt Aspiring Road beyond Treble Cone and Skippers Road. All other public roads are allowed |
| Wilderness Motorhomes | Covered, up to each tier's liability | Covered on every tier, up to the liability | No named list; beaches, surfaces likely to damage the vehicle and roads signed as unsuitable are excluded |
Summarised from each company's rental terms and cover pages, read 17 September 2026. Big Little Campers' terms do not address water damage, roof or underbody damage; ask before relying on its Premium option for them.
Crown Range Road is sealed, and six companies ban it
The Crown Range Road is the direct sealed route between Wanaka and Queenstown, so nothing about it looks off limits. The four thl brands, Travellers Autobarn and Campervan Village ban it by name, and driving a banned road can void whatever cover you paid for. Check your company's list before planning a route through Cardrona.
Cards: what each company accepts
| Company | Debit card for the bond | Other card rules | Card fees |
|---|---|---|---|
| Apollo, Britz, Maui, Mighty | Yes — Visa or Mastercard debit, as well as Visa, Mastercard or Amex credit | No cash at branches. Maui and Apollo accept only the guest's own card for the card authority | Visa and Mastercard 2.46%, Amex 5.2% (Mighty's own page gives 2.71% for Visa and Mastercard) |
| Big Little Campers | Not stated | The Basic bond is paid 35 days before pickup, with the balance of the hire | 2.5% on Visa and Mastercard, non-refundable |
| Campervan Village | Yes, but a debit card keeps the bond on Cover Plus | Visa or Mastercard only; the name must match the driver's licence unless agreed; no prepaid cards, cash or bank transfers; the cardholder must attend pickup and return unless agreed | 1.7% (3.5% on international cards) on bond and cover transactions, non-refundable |
| JUCY, Star RV | Yes — the bond is pre-authorised on the debit card at pickup | On JUCY's Comprehensive option a NZ$300 bond still applies on a debit card, against NZ$1 on a credit card | JUCY: a card fee may apply, with the rate shown at booking. Star RV: not published |
| Spaceships | Yes — Visa, Mastercard or Amex, credit or debit | No Cash Passport or Travelex cards. If the full bond cannot be frozen, the hire can only start on Stress-Free | 2.5% when the balance is paid at pickup; none on online payments |
| Travellers Autobarn | No — a Visa or Mastercard credit card is required | A family member's credit card can be authorised in advance; no prepaid cash cards. The hire itself can be paid by debit card or cash | 2.9% on Visa, Mastercard and Amex, non-refundable |
| Waka Campa | Not stated | Payments also by bank transfer, Wise or cryptocurrency | 3.7% on credit and debit card payments |
| Wendekreisen | Not stated; the bond is a credit card imprint | Payments by bank transfer, EFTPOS (an in-person debit card payment), Visa or Mastercard; no cash | Not published |
| Wilderness Motorhomes | Only by paying the bond up front — NZ$7,500, or NZ$1,000 on Extra or Full Cover | Virtual single-use cards are not accepted as security; no cash | 2.9% on Visa and Mastercard, 3.5% on Amex, 4.4% on PayPal, non-refundable |
From each company's terms, payment and help pages, read 17 September 2026. 'Not stated' means the published terms do not say either way; ask before booking.
Leave room on the card
A hold reduces what you can spend for the whole trip — fuel, campsites, the ferry. Treat the bond as money you cannot use until it is released.
Know what a hold does to a debit card
On a debit card the held amount is your own money, out of reach until the bank lifts the hold. JUCY's website says a released hold can take 7 to 30 business days to reappear in your balance, depending on the bank.
Expect currency drift on a refund
When a bond or damage charge is taken and later refunded on a card in another currency, the refund is converted again at that day's rate. thl and Travellers Autobarn both say the amount can differ, and thl says card refunds can take up to 14 business days.
A claim turns the hold into a charge
Spaceships deducts the bond in full as soon as an incident is reported, and Travellers Autobarn requires a second bond before the hire can continue.
Card fees can apply to the bond
Campervan Village charges its non-refundable processing fee on bond transactions too, so a bond that comes back in full still costs 1.7%, or 3.5% on an international card.
Is excess reduction worth it? Fourteen-day examples
| Scenario (14-day hire unless stated) | On the included cover | On the top option | What the arithmetic shows |
|---|---|---|---|
| Maui motorhome, no damage | NZ$0 for cover; a NZ$7,500 card authority for the trip | NZ$910 for High Road (14 × NZ$65), or NZ$1,120 with windscreen and tyre protection (14 × NZ$15 more) | High Road pays for itself on any single covered claim above NZ$910. With no claim, what it bought was a fortnight without NZ$7,500 of exposure |
| Travellers Autobarn campervan, single-vehicle rollover | NZ$3,500 bond taken; liability for the damage, or the van's market value, up to NZ$50,000; a NZ$190 administration fee | Value Pack: NZ$630 (14 × NZ$45), nil liability. Protection Plus, at NZ$490, leaves up to NZ$10,000 | The NZ$140 between the two options buys the last NZ$10,000 of rollover risk, plus an extra driver and camping gear |
| Spaceships Beta, cracked windscreen and a damaged tyre | Up to NZ$840 from the NZ$5,000 bond, at Spaceships' own published prices: NZ$700 for a windscreen and up to NZ$140 for a fitted tyre | Stress-Free: NZ$490 at NZ$35 a day, or NZ$560 at the NZ$40 rate from 1 October 2026; nothing to pay for either repair | Glass Cover alone, NZ$112 for 14 days, would cover the windscreen and leave the tyre. Stress-Free also covers the roof, the underbody, rollovers, gravel roads and towing, which Spaceships prices at NZ$250 to NZ$1,500 depending on where you are stranded |
| JUCY Chaser, roof hits an overhead object | Up to NZ$5,000, plus the NZ$125 claims fee | Comprehensive: NZ$910 (14 × NZ$65), then only the NZ$125 claims fee | Essentials, at NZ$700, would not help: roof damage falls outside its NZ$1,500 cap and reverts to the full NZ$5,000 |
| Big Little Campers, The Little One, two separate incidents | Up to NZ$5,000 each, so up to NZ$10,000 across the trip — and NZ$5,000 paid 35 days before pickup | Premium: NZ$490 (14 × NZ$35), no bond | The excess applies to each incident, so the second claim costs as much as the first |
| Wendekreisen, driver aged 23 | NZ$350 of compulsory cover (14 × NZ$25) for a NZ$5,000 excess | Full Cover Package: NZ$630 (14 × NZ$45) for a NZ$2,500 excess | A driver under 25 pays the top price and still carries NZ$2,500; there is no nil option at any age |
| Campervan Village, booked direct | Not available: Standard Liability is sold only through travel agents | LR One is the cheapest direct option at NZ$420 (14 × NZ$30) for NZ$3,000 single-vehicle liability; Cover Plus is NZ$770 (14 × NZ$55) for NZ$1 | A direct booking always pays for cover, and Cover Plus drops the bond only when the hire is paid by credit card |
| Wilderness, 60-day hire | NZ$7,500 liability for all 60 days | Full Cover: NZ$4,200 — 60 days at NZ$84 would be NZ$5,040 | The cap makes every day past the fiftieth free, with road user charges and tolls included throughout |
Cover prices for pickups in the current season, from each company's published terms, read 17 September 2026. Repair costs are Spaceships' own published figures, not quotes. Claims fees are shown where the company publishes them.
The most a top option can cost
Because most companies stop charging after 50 days, the top option has a fixed ceiling per rental: 50 × NZ$65, or NZ$3,250, for Maui's High Road, against the NZ$7,500 it removes. What no company publishes is how often its renters claim. Wilderness says about 95% of its customers choose its Full Cover, and calls windscreen and tyre damage very common.
Travel insurance and excess cover bought elsewhere
The rental companies agree on this. thl's rental conditions say the liability applies 'regardless of if the guest has purchased private travel insurance'. Waka Campa says its Risk Taker bond 'is still held at pick-up even if you have your own cover', and Spaceships says its bond is frozen either way. With outside cover you pay the rental company first and claim the money back from your insurer, which is how Wendekreisen's FAQ describes it: the policy reimburses you after the claim is settled and does not pay Wendekreisen directly.
Check what the outside policy covers before relying on it. Spaceships warns that 'a lot of these excess insurance companies don't cover campervans', even though its own vans are built on a people-carrier. The policy's limit also needs to reach the company's real ceiling, which at Travellers Autobarn is NZ$50,000 for a rollover. And no policy changes the rental contract: under it, damage on a banned road or in a river is still yours to pay.
The rental company's cover also stops at the vehicle. thl's rental agreement says the vehicle has no third-party personal injury insurance cover, and the companies whose terms mention personal belongings exclude them. Injury is handled differently in New Zealand: Travellers Autobarn's terms point out that the accident compensation scheme, ACC, covers visitors' treatment costs for injuries from an accident, but that it is not a replacement for travel insurance, because it does not cover illness or disrupted travel.
Does the policy name campervans or motorhomes?
Spaceships' warning is the reason to check: some excess policies do not cover them, whatever the vehicle is built on.
Does its limit reach the real ceiling?
The headline excess is not always the most you can owe. Match the policy limit to any rollover or write-off figure too.
Can your card still carry the bond?
The rental company takes its bond regardless. Outside cover repays you later; it does not reduce the card limit you need at pickup.
What will the claim need?
Keep the rental agreement, the damage report and the rental company's invoice. The insurer reimburses you from those, after the rental company has been paid.
Choosing your cover
You cannot tie up several thousand dollars on a card for the trip
Count the top option in from the start, or pick a company with a small default: NZ$3,000 on JUCY's Crib, NZ$3,500 on Mighty's vans without a shower. At Spaceships, a bond that cannot be frozen means the hire can only start on Stress-Free.
You only have a debit card
The thl brands, JUCY, Star RV and Spaceships take debit cards for the bond. Campervan Village takes them but keeps a bond on Cover Plus. Travellers Autobarn requires a credit card, and Wilderness asks for the bond to be paid up front.
Your route includes gravel roads or the Crown Range
The thl brands, JUCY, Star RV, Travellers Autobarn and Campervan Village limit you to sealed roads, apart from short access roads, and six companies ban the Crown Range by name. Spaceships allows gravel and covers gravel damage on Stress-Free; Wendekreisen bans named roads and 4WD-only roads and allows every other public road. Check the list against your route before paying for any cover.
A driver is under 25
At Wendekreisen the excess doubles for drivers aged 21 to 24, even on its top option. At Campervan Village, damage by a driver under 21 is not covered unless the under-21 surcharge has been paid.
The trip runs past seven weeks
The thl brands, JUCY, Star RV, Spaceships and Travellers Autobarn stop charging for cover at 50 days; Wilderness caps Full Cover at NZ$4,200, and Wendekreisen caps each option at a fixed amount per hire. Campervan Village charges Cover Plus for up to 60 days and Cover One for up to 45.
You already hold an excess policy
Keep the included cover only if your card can carry the bond and the policy covers campervans up to the company's highest figure. Otherwise, weigh its cost against what the top option adds beyond the excess — road user charges and tolls at Wilderness, breakdown accommodation up to the daily rate at Waka Campa (Wilderness refunds only the full hire days lost to a breakdown you did not cause), an extra driver and camping gear at JUCY.
Go by the figure on your own booking
Cover terms change with the booking date and the vehicle: JUCY's current figures apply to bookings from 1 May 2026, Spaceships' prices change on 1 October 2026 and thl's on 1 April 2027. Companies' own pages also disagree — Big Little Campers' summary page and Spaceships' terms still show older prices — so treat the booking confirmation and the signed agreement as the figures that count.
Frequently asked questions
What is the difference between a campervan bond and an excess?
The excess, or liability, is the most you owe per claim for damage the rental contract covers. The bond is the amount the company secures before you drive, so that it can collect that money. At most New Zealand rental companies they are the same figure, but not everywhere: Travellers Autobarn holds a NZ$3,500 bond while leaving you liable for up to NZ$50,000 after a single-vehicle rollover or write-off, and Spaceships caps a write-off at NZ$18,000 above its NZ$5,000 bond.
Is a campervan bond charged to my card or only held?
It depends on the company. Spaceships, Travellers Autobarn and Waka Campa hold it as a pre-authorisation, and the thl brands — Apollo, Britz, Maui and Mighty — record a card authority in New Zealand rather than taking a deposit. Big Little Campers takes the bond as a payment 35 days before pickup. JUCY and Star RV describe a hold on their websites but a debit in their booking terms, and Wilderness's pages disagree with its contract. Ask which applies before you travel, and on a debit card assume the money is unavailable either way.
Can I rent a campervan in New Zealand with a debit card?
At most companies, yes. The thl brands, JUCY, Star RV and Spaceships accept debit cards for the bond. Campervan Village accepts them, but waives its Cover Plus bond only when the hire is paid by credit card. Travellers Autobarn requires a Visa or Mastercard credit card for its bond, and Wilderness asks renters without a credit card to pay the bond up front.
Does zero excess mean I can never be charged for damage?
No. A nil liability applies only to damage the contract covers. Every company here charges in full for damage on a banned road or after a breach of the agreement, and those whose terms address it exclude water damage at every tier. The thl brands' High Road also leaves windscreens and tyres with you unless you add them, Travellers Autobarn and Waka Campa never cover roof or underbody damage, and JUCY and Star RV still charge a NZ$125 claims fee on their top option.
Is campervan excess reduction worth it in New Zealand?
It depends on how likely you are to claim, which no company publishes, so compare what the cover costs with what it removes. Over a 14-day hire, Maui's High Road costs NZ$910 and pays for itself on any single covered claim above that; because most companies stop charging after 50 days, the most it can cost on any rental is NZ$3,250, against the NZ$7,500 it removes. Check what a cheaper option leaves out, too: JUCY's middle tier does not cover roof damage. Wilderness says about 95% of its customers choose its Full Cover, and calls windscreen and tyre damage very common.
Will my travel insurance cover the campervan excess?
It may repay it, but it does not replace the rental company's terms. The company still takes its bond and charges its liability, and you claim the money back afterwards. Check that the policy covers campervans or motorhomes — Spaceships warns that many excess insurers do not — and that its limit reaches the company's highest figure, not only the headline excess.
Which rental companies ban the Crown Range Road?
Apollo, Britz, Maui and Mighty, which share thl's rental conditions, plus Travellers Autobarn and Campervan Village. The road is sealed, but driving a banned road can void the cover you paid for. Skippers Road, Ball Hut Road and Ninety Mile Beach appear on most companies' lists.
Is excess reduction charged for the whole trip?
Usually only up to a cap. The thl brands, JUCY, Star RV, Spaceships and Travellers Autobarn stop charging after 50 days. Wilderness caps Full Cover at NZ$4,200, Wendekreisen caps each option at a fixed amount per hire, and Campervan Village charges Cover Plus for up to 60 days and Cover One for up to 45. Big Little Campers and Waka Campa do not state a cap.
Why do I see different excess figures for the same company?
Usually for one of three reasons. The figure depends on the vehicle: Britz, Apollo, JUCY and Big Little Campers all set higher figures on their larger models. It depends on the booking date: JUCY's current figures apply to bookings confirmed from 1 May 2026, and thl's prices change for pickups from 1 April 2027. And companies' own pages sometimes disagree: Big Little Campers' summary page and older FAQ text quote different figures from its vehicle pages. The booking confirmation and the signed agreement are the figures that count.
Sources & freshness
Every figure comes from the company's own published terms, read 17 September 2026. Apollo, Britz, Maui and Mighty: thl's Summary of Rental Conditions, New Zealand, version 12 of 4 August 2026 (travel from 1 April 2026 to 31 March 2027) and version 5 of 17 August 2026 (from 1 April 2027); thl's New Zealand Rental Vehicle Agreement for pickups from 1 April 2026; Britz's New Zealand liability pages for both seasons; Mighty's liability reduction page; and Maui's and Apollo's liability and fees FAQs. JUCY: its Customer Booking Terms and Conditions valid from 1 May 2026, its New Zealand rental agreement summary for bookings confirmed or amended from that date, its excess reduction page and its help-centre articles on bonds, debit cards and card fees. Star RV: its own Customer Booking Terms and Conditions valid from 1 May 2026, its New Zealand excess reduction page and its help centre. Spaceships: its insurance page and terms and conditions. Big Little Campers: its terms and conditions and the insurance panels on its three vehicle pages. Travellers Autobarn: its New Zealand rental terms and conditions effective 19 June 2026 and its security bond page. Wendekreisen: its terms and conditions, FAQ and prices pages, which carry no effective date. Wilderness: its liability options page (prices effective 1 April 2026), its rental terms and conditions effective 1 May 2026 and its how-to-book page. Waka Campa: its insurance comparison page, the Risk Taker and Peace of Mind protection policies it links from that page, and its help-centre FAQ. Campervan Village: its New Zealand terms and conditions, including the cover table in clause 12.9. Repair costs are Spaceships' own published figures. The companies' own documents conflict in places: JUCY's and Star RV's websites call the bond a hold where their terms say it is debited at pickup; Wilderness's insurance and booking pages describe a pre-authorisation where its contract requires no bond until damage occurs; Maui's and Apollo's liability pages describe a debit in a panel priced in Australian dollars, while Britz's and Mighty's New Zealand pages describe a card authority; Mighty quotes a 2.71% Visa and Mastercard fee against 2.46% in thl's summary; Campervan Village's cover table ticks roof damage and rollovers on Cover Plus while its general exclusions list overhead damage and single-vehicle accidents; Spaceships' terms still show an older Stress-Free price; and Big Little Campers' summary page and FAQ quote figures that differ from its vehicle pages. Not confirmed: whether Big Little Campers, Waka Campa and Wendekreisen accept debit cards for the bond, and whether Big Little Campers and Waka Campa cap their daily cover charge.
Keep reading
Compare live prices across every vendor
These are collected averages. Run a live search for real-time availability and exact prices for your dates.
Search all vendors