Can You Sleep in a Campervan in Australia? Free Camping Rules for NSW, QLD, WA and Every State
Updated 20 September 2026 · 18 min read
The short answer
- National rule
- NoneNo federal law grants or forbids it. State, council, land manager and your hire contract decide
- New South Wales (NSW)
- No state ban, no published hour limitCouncils decide. In Sydney, time-limited parking signage does the work instead
- Queensland (QLD)
- 20 hours at a rest area"unless signed otherwise" — and the state says rest areas "are not camping sites"
- Western Australia (WA)
- 24 hours, and only at a signed rest areaCamping outside a licensed park or camping ground is itself an offence: A$200, charged per person
- Victoria's state forests
- Up to 28 nights, no permitThe clearest case of public land needing no paperwork. Set up at least 20 metres from waterways
- Three confirmed council fines
- A$110, A$312.50, A$333Byron Shire, Yorke Peninsula, Noosa Shire. Each council sets its own; check its current page
- One company's off-road charge
- Up to A$2,000Campervan Village, on GPS evidence of a beach or prohibited area, even where no damage is found
The short version
Three states, three different kinds of answer. In New South Wales there is no general state law against sleeping in a lawfully parked vehicle, and no published rest-area hour limit either; the question is whether the local council prohibits it, and in Sydney ordinary time-limited parking signage defeats an overnight stay without any camping rule being cited. In Queensland you may stop at a signed highway rest area for up to 20 hours "unless signed otherwise", on a government page that also says rest areas "are not camping sites or an accommodation option" — and in town, councils such as Brisbane and Cairns prohibit sleeping in a vehicle outright. In Western Australia camping outside a licensed caravan park or camping ground is itself an offence carrying a A$200 on-the-spot penalty per person, and yet a sign-designated roadside rest area is one of the few places the regulations expressly permit you to camp, for 24 hours.
Those two rest-area numbers look like the same rule and are not the same kind of rule at all. Western Australia's is a statutory permission to camp. Queensland's is government guidance about stopping. The state with the shorter allowance is the one that tells you camping is not what it is for.
Figures below are the authorities' own, read on 20 September 2026. Where we relied on a secondary summary, or could not reach a source, the line says so.
Is it illegal to sleep in your car in Australia? Four decision-makers, not one rule
Travellers arriving from New Zealand or Europe look for the Australian equivalent of a freedom camping scheme — a certificate for the van, a national map of where it is welcome. There is none. No federal law grants a right to sleep in a vehicle and none forbids it.
What replaces a national rule is four separate decision-makers, and the useful property is that each can stop you on its own: clearing one tells you nothing about the next.
- The state
- Sets the general position, and through its road authority controls the highway rest areas where the published time limits apply. Only Western Australia makes camping itself an offence state-wide.
- The council
- Streets, car parks, reserves, foreshores, sportsgrounds. The layer that decides most coastal trips, set by local by-law and enforced by rangers. Australians call these bodies a City, a Shire, a Regional Council or just a Council; they are the same kind of body, and each writes its own rules.
- The land manager
- National parks, state forests, Crown reserves. Each has an agency with its own rules, and permission usually means a booked, numbered site.
- Your hire contract
- Not law, but an agreement you signed. It restricts where the vehicle may go regardless of what the law allows, and several companies monitor it by GPS.
A licensed caravan park or camping ground is not one of those layers. It is the default answer everywhere, and in Western Australia very nearly the only one.
The four overlap unevenly, and the unevenness is the subject. New South Wales has no general state prohibition, so the council does all the work. Western Australia's prohibition operates everywhere, so a permissive council is not enough. Queensland's 20-hour allowance applies to the state's rest areas and reaches nothing two streets away, because that is council land.
Two vocabularies worth knowing before you read on
Australians say free camping or bush camping where New Zealanders say freedom camping and the British say wild camping. And every state has its own word for an on-the-spot fine: Western Australia calls it a modified penalty, South Australia an expiation notice, most others an infringement.
Rest area time limits: 20 hours in Queensland, 24 in WA — and only one is permission to camp
Queensland publishes its figure plainly: "General and recreational vehicles can stop at a rest area for up to 20 hours unless signed otherwise." The same page says what the facility is not — rest areas "are not camping sites or an accommodation option" — and frames them around managing fatigue.
Western Australia's 24 hours sits in regulation 11(1)(b) of the Caravan Parks and Camping Grounds Regulations 1997, which permits a person to camp "for up to 24 consecutive hours in a caravan or other vehicle on a road side rest area". Regulation 11(3) defines that as "an area designated by a traffic sign erected in accordance with a written law, as an area which may be used for 24 hours for — (a) resting; or (b) stopping; or (c) camping, in a vehicle". Regulation 8A removes the remaining doubt: "camp when used as a verb, includes to camp in a vehicle."
| State | Published limit | What kind of rule |
|---|---|---|
| Queensland | Up to 20 hours, "unless signed otherwise" | Government guidance. The page states rest areas "are not camping sites or an accommodation option", names no instrument, and carries no penalty for overstaying |
| Western Australia | Up to 24 consecutive hours | Statutory permission to camp, reg 11(1)(b) — but only at a rest area a traffic sign designates as such |
| New South Wales | No figure published | A figure of 24 hours circulates; Transport for NSW does not publish it anywhere we could find. The state's approach has long been signage-based |
| Victoria, SA, NT and Tasmania | No figure given | The road authority's own page could not be read. Ask that authority, and read the sign at the entrance, which governs either way |
Read 20 September 2026. The Australian Capital Territory was not examined for this article.
Two practical rules come out of the difference, and they are the whole of it.
In Queensland the clock is the rule. Twenty hours covers an evening arrival, a night's sleep and an unhurried departure — a 5pm arrival means leaving by 1pm, so neither state's figure gives you a second night in the same bay. Stay in the van. Awnings, chairs, tables and a fire are what turns a stop into the thing the state says a rest area is not.
In Western Australia the sign is the rule. An unsigned gravel pull-off is not a "road side rest area" within regulation 11(3), so the 24-hour permission does not exist there and you are back under regulation 10 and its A$200 penalty. The converse holds in Queensland: there the 20 hours is the default, and it is the sign that takes it away.
One complication sits between the policy and the regulation. Main Roads WA's own rest-area policy of February 2023 classifies its sites, and overnight stays "are permissible" at tourism related rest areas, "may be permissible" at major and heavy-vehicle ones subject to capacity and layout, and are not provided for at minor parking bays. A departmental policy cannot remove a statutory permission, so the way to read the two together is this: the policy governs how Main Roads signs and classifies an area, and the regulation attaches the permission to what the sign actually says. Not every bay signed for parking is a road side rest area within regulation 11(3).
New South Wales (NSW): no state ban, and no published hour limit either
New South Wales has no general state law forbidding a person from sleeping in a lawfully parked vehicle. The restriction, where it exists, belongs to a council.
Nor does the state publish an hour figure for rest areas. Its approach has long been signage-based: a 2010 Department of Planning circular — since archived, and old enough to name the Roads and Traffic Authority abolished in 2011 — put it as "camping in a roadside rest area may be permitted, unless a 'no camping' or 'no overnight stays' sign has been placed there by a council or the Roads and Traffic Authority (RTA) (or other relevant authority)". A figure of 24 hours circulates for NSW; Transport for NSW does not publish it anywhere we could find.
Outside the cities councils legislate directly. Byron Shire publishes an on-the-spot fine of A$110 for unauthorised camping and can issue Court Attendance Notices carrying a maximum penalty of A$2,200; its page describes unauthorised camping and does not name vehicles specifically. A second NSW council is reported to publish the same pair of figures, which would suggest a state-wide penalty-notice amount rather than Byron's own, but its page could not be reached, so nothing here turns on it.
One rule genuinely helps, and it is about private land. Under the state's moveable dwellings regulation, one or two caravans may be installed on land without council approval provided they are "not used for more than 2 consecutive days and less than 60 days in a 12-month period", as Bega Valley Shire Council sets out — so a night or two at a friend's place or a farm gate is lawful, with the landholder's permission, which the rule assumes rather than grants.
Every NSW National Parks campground must be booked online before arrival: "online booking is required for all campgrounds and hard roof accommodation across NSW." There is no free, legal option inside Sydney's own council boundaries, so the realistic first night is a booked site — Bonnie Vale in the Royal National Park, about an hour south, is the closest.
A council with no camping by-law is not a council that permits it
We could not find a Sydney-area council publishing a by-law that names campervans, motorhomes or sleeping in vehicles. What operates instead is ordinary time-limited parking signage across the inner and coastal councils — a two-hour zone defeats an overnight stay whatever the driver intends. Perth does the same thing with a different instrument: the City of Perth's Thoroughfares and Public Places Local Law 2017 never uses the word "camping" at all, and makes a vehicle left unattended in a public place for more than 24 hours an obstruction offence needing a permit. Searching for a camping rule and finding none is a reliable way to reach the wrong conclusion.
Queensland (QLD): 20 hours at a rest area, and a definition that catches you two streets away
The figure is the state's own: "General and recreational vehicles can stop at a rest area for up to 20 hours unless signed otherwise", across roughly 450 signed highway rest areas. The page carries no dollar figure for overstaying, and the fines it does mention are for a general vehicle occupying a heavy-vehicle-only rest area.
Twenty hours buys nothing in a town. Brisbane City Council's Health, Safety and Amenity Local Law 2021 makes sleeping or camping overnight in a vehicle on a road or road-related area an offence — and "road-related area" is the part that bites, because it covers footpaths, dividing strips and road shoulders, so a van parked perfectly legally on a verge is still committing it. The law carves out narrow exceptions, and one of them matters more than the others: managing fatigue, alongside personal safety, an emergency, a signed or designated area, and licensed accommodation. A driver genuinely too tired to continue is in a different position from one who has chosen a free bed, though the council publishes no guidance on how far that stretches, and it is not a basis for planning a night.
Cairns Regional Council bans camping — defined in its own rules to include sleeping overnight in a campervan, motorhome or caravan, which closes the argument that sleeping is not camping — across roadsides, the Esplanade, parks, car parks, sportsgrounds, drainage reserves, cemeteries and beaches, enforced with on-the-spot fines whose amount it does not publish. It also states it has no jurisdiction over Federal- or State-controlled roads and reserves, so its ban does not settle what is legal on every road out of the city.
Noosa Shire announced fines of A$309 for illegal camping during a 2024 enforcement campaign and A$333 during the equivalent campaign in 2025. Neither release names the local law behind the figure — which is the practical problem with a published amount that does not cite its instrument: there is nothing for a reader to check it against a year later.
In a national park, camping without a permit is an offence in its own right under section 89 of the Nature Conservation (Protected Areas Management) Regulation 2017, carrying a maximum of 20 penalty units, and 80 where a regulatory notice applies. Those are maximum penalties a court may impose, not on-the-spot fines, and they stay in penalty units here because the unit's dollar value is set and indexed by a separate regulation we could not read at its source. The practical instruction is the same as in New South Wales: book the site.
Cairns bans its own beaches and publishes the alternatives
Rotary Park and the Boulders at Babinda, both council-run and free, sit about 55km and fifty minutes south, each capped at 72 hours with a 14-day stand-down before you may return. Rifle Creek Rest Area at Mt Molloy, about 85km north-west, takes a donation rather than a set rate with a 48-hour maximum — and belongs to Mareeba Shire, not Cairns, so the council that bans the coast is not always the one providing the alternative.
Western Australia (WA): camping outside a licensed park is itself the offence
Regulation 10 of the Caravan Parks and Camping Grounds Regulations 1997 is the shortest statement of a position anywhere in this article. Its text reads: "A person may camp only — (a) at a site in a caravan park or camping ground, as appropriate, licensed under the Act; or (b) in accordance with regulation 11." The penalty it sets is a fine of A$2,000. Regulation 8A closes the obvious escape route: "camp when used as a verb, includes to camp in a vehicle." Sleeping in the van is camping in Western Australian law, and camping is prohibited unless regulation 11 permits it.
Note the wording: a licensed camping ground counts as well as a caravan park. And note where the prohibition lives. The Caravan Parks and Camping Grounds Act 1995 contains no camping offence at all — it empowers the regulations and caps what they may impose at A$5,000, plus A$500 for each day a continuing offence continues. The offence is the regulation's.
Regulation 11 is therefore the whole of the exception, and it is short.
| Where you may camp | How long | What it takes |
|---|---|---|
| A sign-designated roadside rest area | Up to 24 consecutive hours | A traffic sign designating the area for resting, stopping or camping in a vehicle, reg 11(3) |
| A road reserve, in an emergency | Up to 24 consecutive hours | Moving the vehicle "would constitute an immediate and serious hazard" owing to its condition or that of its driver or passengers; not available where moving would itself cause a hazard to other road users or contravene another written law |
| Land held or managed by a State instrumentality | Not stated | That body's permission |
| Unallocated Crown land or an unmanaged reserve | Not stated | The Minister's permission |
| Land you own or have a legal right to occupy | Up to five nights in any 28 consecutive days | Extendable with written approval from the local government or the Minister |
Regulation 10 prohibits camping anywhere else. Regulation 8A: "camp when used as a verb, includes to camp in a vehicle." Consolidation 02-i0-00 as at 1 September 2024.
That five-night figure was three until the regulations were amended by SL 2024/162, gazetted 7 August 2024. The City of Busselton's own current camping brochure still prints "a maximum of three nights in any period of 28 consecutive days". When a council's live document has not caught up with the regulation it enforces, no secondary source is worth acting on.
Two dollar figures circulate for Western Australia and they answer different questions. The A$2,000 in regulation 10 is the maximum fine on conviction. The figure councils actually issue is the modified penalty in Schedule 4 — A$200 — and because the state regulation sets it rather than each council, it is the same figure in every local government area. Busselton states that "illegal campers, including every person in a vehicle found to be illegally camping, may be given a $200 penalty", and the Shire of Exmouth that the penalty "is $200 per person found illegally camped within Western Australia". Both are explicit: per person, not per vehicle. A family of four is four penalties.
An unpaid WA infringement reaches your licence
The notice gives 28 days to pay the modified penalty or elect to go to court. Ignore it and enforcement proceeds under the Fines, Penalties and Infringement Notices Enforcement Act 1994, under which, in the notice's own words, "your driver's licence may be suspended, your vehicle licence may be suspended or cancelled… your vehicle may be immobilised or have its number plates removed". On a hire van that is a problem you hand to the rental company.
Councils add their own layer on top. The City of Canning — which contains the Welshpool and Bentley depots — bans camping, tents and fires on any foreshore or reserve without written permission. Parks are DBCA's, and it states that "camping in Western Australia's parks is only permitted in designated campgrounds", with bookings essential at a growing number of sites through Park Stay WA while many remain self-registration. Out of Perth, DBCA's campgrounds at Lane Poole Reserve near Dwellingup are the nearest legal first night.
Victoria (VIC): free camping in state forests is the default — and its councils are as strict as any
Victoria's state forests are the clearest case in this article of public land where camping needs no permit at all. The state's own guidance sets two substantive limits — "stay no longer than 28 consecutive nights", and "set up at least 20 metres from waterways" — and the Conservation Regulator's authorised officers enforce them. Against Western Australia's regulation 10, twenty-eight nights without paperwork is a different country.
That latitude belongs to the forests, not to Victoria.
| Council | What it prohibits | What it sanctions |
|---|---|---|
| City of Melbourne | Camping in a public place without a permit, naming sleeping in a vehicle, tent or caravan — Activities Local Law 2024 | None named here |
| Mornington Peninsula | Camping anywhere else on the Peninsula, self-contained vans included | Booked foreshore reserves at Rosebud, Rye and Sorrento, roughly October to April |
| Surf Coast Shire | Overnight camping and vehicle-sleeping on roadsides, beaches and car parks outside a caravan park or a council-designated area — Community Amenity Local Law | A signed 48-hour parking area at Winchelsea, Barwon River Reserve off Barwon Terrace, fully self-contained vehicles only, no fee stated |
Read 20 September 2026. The same pattern as Cairns: the councils that prohibit most firmly are usually the ones publishing the alternative.
Winchelsea closes on conditions no website reflects in real time. The council warns the area "is prone to flooding", tells drivers to "exercise caution if the Barwon River is above 2.5m in height", and states the site "will be closed if the river height exceeds 3m or if the area is too soft and unsuitable for vehicles", with closure notified by a sign at the entrance or a flashing flood beacon. We could not confirm whether it has reopened after works on the adjacent site, so ring the shire before counting on it.
Parks Victoria's online campsite bookings are prepaid in full at the time of booking.
South Australia (SA): by-laws, expiation notices and no state camping offence
South Australian councils control camping through by-laws made under the Local Government Act 1999 rather than a dedicated state camping statute, and enforce through expiation notices — the state's term for an on-the-spot fine. Inside the City of Adelaide, the Local Government Land By-law 2018 bars anyone from camping or remaining overnight "whether in the open, a building, a vehicle or otherwise" on council land without permission, covering CBD streets, council car parks, reserves and the Park Lands. The metropolitan depot councils — West Torrens, Charles Sturt, Port Adelaide Enfield, Salisbury — each publish their own land by-laws; assume an equivalent restriction.
Where a South Australian council does sanction camping it says what breaching the terms costs. Yorke Peninsula Council runs a permitted bush-camping scheme and states that "any person who camps in a non-authorised area or does not pay the appropriate fee prior to using the designated campground may be issued with a $312.50 expiation notice". The same document caps a permit at 30 consecutive days and locks a camper out of every council camping reserve for a further 30 days after 60 consecutive days camped.
Parks South Australia tells visitors to "book your campsite online or in-person with our booking agents before you go". We could not confirm a published rest-area time limit for the state; the transport department's page refused to load.
Kangaroo Island is off-limits under several hire agreements
This is the fourth layer rather than the law. Travellers Autobarn permits Kangaroo Island only with prior permission, and states that unauthorised island travel voids protection and leaves all recovery costs with the hirer. Check the agreement before the ferry, not after.
Northern Territory (NT): the layer most travellers have never heard of
Large parts of the NT are Aboriginal freehold, and travelling on non-public roads through it, or staying overnight in a community, requires a permit from the relevant land council — the Central Land Council across the southern NT, the Northern Land Council across the Top End. Transit permits attach to named roads, and a permit may confine camping to a single site: on the Tjukaruru Road, the Central Land Council states that "camping is only allowed at the Kaltukatjara (Docker River) campground". Its page gives two different maximum penalties for unauthorised entry, so no figure is quoted here; the permit is the point, not the fine.
The Mereenie Loop shows two layers biting at once. It needs a permit under the land-access rules — and it is also on Tourism Holdings' list of roads prohibited to its two-wheel-drive vehicles, alongside Boggy Hole, the Ghan Heritage Road and Jim Jim Falls. Permission from one does not buy permission from the other.
Within the City of Darwin, By-Law 103 prohibits camping in public places, and the council's wording leaves nothing to interpretation: it "includes sleeping in a motor vehicle, campervan, caravan, tent or in open spaces, reserves or public facilities". Rangers "may issue infringement notices (on the spot fines)" and can impound camping gear left unattended, though the amount is not published on either the by-law page or the infringements index. No numbered camping by-law is confirmed on City of Palmerston's or Litchfield Council's own site.
There is a genuine free option near Darwin
Gunn Point, about an hour north-east inside the Litchfield Municipality, is a free, no-permit vehicle-based camping area administered by the NT Land Corporation — not a council — where camping is confined to signed areas away from the beach and cliff edge, with no bins, toilets or drinking water, so it works only in a genuinely self-contained van. No legal roadside rest area on the Stuart or Arnhem Highways is confirmed from a government source, which is part of why Gunn Point matters.
Tasmania (TAS): check the ferry conditions first, then the competition policy
Several hire agreements restrict Tasmania outright
Tourism Holdings requires written consent for all of Tasmania in a four-wheel-drive and for any island reached by ferry, and the MightyLITE may not enter Tasmania at all. Travellers Autobarn is mainland Australia only, with Tasmania allowed on prior permission, and states that unauthorised island travel voids protection and leaves all recovery costs with the hirer. The ferry crossing is a contractual question before it is a camping one.
The state-level mechanism is unusual enough to be worth knowing. Under the Tasmanian Treasury's policy on applying competitive neutrality principles to public camping, a public entity providing camping must assess "the total number of non-powered camping sites within a geographic market area of 60 km drive from the public camping facility", and where its own non-powered sites amount to "more than 10 per cent of the total number of non-powered camping sites within the geographic market", it "must apply full cost attribution principles".
The threshold is relative, which is the interesting part: a council site can cross the line and have to start charging because a private caravan park nearby closed, with nothing about the council, the policy or the site itself having changed.
| Central Coast Council sites | Detail |
|---|---|
| Sites | Forth Recreation Ground, Midway Beach and Bannons Park |
| Cost | A$15 per night, per site |
| Maximum stay | Three consecutive nights |
| Vehicles | Self-contained only — no tents, no fires |
| How to pay | QR code on site, or the Ulverstone and Penguin visitor centres |
| Booking | None — "first in, best dressed" |
Midway Beach was closed for seasonal maintenance when we read the page, 20 September 2026.
We could not confirm that the competitive-neutrality policy is what changed those sites, only that it is the mechanism deciding whether a Tasmanian council site can stay free.
What illegal camping actually costs — the fines are smaller than the folklore
| Where | Published penalty | What kind |
|---|---|---|
| Western Australia, state-wide | A$200 per person | On-the-spot modified penalty for reg 10, set by the state regulation |
| Noosa Shire, QLD | A$333 (A$309 in 2024) | Announced in council enforcement campaigns |
| Yorke Peninsula, SA | A$312.50 | Expiation notice |
| Byron Shire, NSW | A$110 | On-the-spot fine |
| Western Australia, on conviction | A$2,000 | Maximum court fine under reg 10 |
| Byron Shire, NSW, on conviction | Up to A$2,200 | Court Attendance Notice maximum |
| Queensland national parks | 20 penalty units, or 80 against a regulatory notice | Maximum court penalties, not on-the-spot fines |
| Cairns, Brisbane, Darwin | Not published | On-the-spot fines confirmed, amounts not published |
Read 20 September 2026. Several widely quoted amounts — an A$800 Gold Coast infringement, a Queensland rest-area overstay fine, a NSW figure in the tens of thousands — could not be traced to any authority's own publication and are absent.
Western Australia's is the one figure that does not change at a boundary, because the state regulation sets it rather than each council — which is why Busselton and Exmouth publish an identical amount. In Queensland and South Australia the council sets its own. In New South Wales we could not establish whether Byron's A$110 is its own figure or a state-wide one. And these amounts move: Noosa's rose from A$309 to A$333 between two consecutive campaigns, so treat any figure here, including ours, as a dated snapshot and check the council's current page.
What your hire agreement adds: a lawful parking spot can still cost you
It restricts where the vehicle may go on its own terms, several companies monitor compliance by GPS, and the charges land whether or not the parking was lawful and whether or not anything was damaged.
Beaches are the clearest case. Some Australian beaches are legal to drive and camp on with a permit from the relevant authority, and none of the eleven companies in our Australian comparison allows it.
| Company | Charge for a beach or prohibited area |
|---|---|
| Campervan Village | Up to A$2,000 where its tracking shows a beach, salt water or a prohibited area, in its own terms to cover cleaning and depreciation even where no damage is found — plus A$300 per occasion for entering a restricted zone |
| JUCY | A$250 per violation |
| Star RV | A$250 per violation |
| Travellers Autobarn | A$250 |
The A$2,000 here is a contract charge, unrelated to Western Australia's A$2,000 court maximum above. Each company's own published terms, read 20 September 2026.
Tourism Holdings, which is Apollo, Britz, Maui and Mighty, publishes a prohibition list that reads like an inventory of the free-camping genre's favourite places: any beach, Fraser and Moreton Islands, the Old Telegraph Track, Cape York from December to May, the Canning Stock Route, the Old Gunbarrel Highway, the Great Central Road, and ski-access roads from 1 June to 30 September, with written consent required for the Simpson Desert, the Tanami Track, the Gibb River Road, the Bungle Bungles and the Oodnadatta, Strzelecki and Birdsville Tracks.
Two companies publish no list at all. JUCY's and Star RV's terms reserve the right to name restricted locations at collection, so the list binding you is the one you are told at the depot. Campervan Village publishes its prohibited zones as a map rather than a list. For those three, checking your route against the contract in advance is not something the contract lets you do.
The second trap is the road in. Much free and low-cost camping sits at the end of unsealed access, and the allowance is the company's, not the state's.
| Company | Unsealed road allowed |
|---|---|
| Travellers Autobarn | 500 metres of well-maintained access road |
| Campervan Village | 10 kilometres, and only on a two-wheel-drive |
| Most other companies | Under 12 kilometres, to a recognised campground |
| Camperman | None at all — its terms state that any unsealed road voids all damage protection cover |
A campsite can be perfectly legal and the eight kilometres of gravel reaching it can remove your cover for the rest of the hire.
None of this makes those places illegal. It makes them expensive in a way no council's fine schedule describes, and it is decided by which company you booked rather than which state you are in. Note too that a substantial breach of the Tourism Holdings agreement removes its liability cap altogether, "irrespective of the liability cover, reduction or option purchased", so the ceiling on this layer is not a number at all. Each company's road restrictions and monitoring are set out in full in our guide to campervan excess and bonds in Australia.
No tier of cover pays to recover a bogged vehicle
Not one of the eleven companies covers recovery from sand, mud or water at any level, top tiers included, and Spaceships excludes remote recovery in the Northern Territory and northern Western Australia even on its top tier. Tourism Holdings' four-wheel-drives may cross fresh water only to 30 centimetres or the height of the driveline, whichever is lower, and salt water never.
Do you need a self-contained campervan in Australia? No certificate, but increasingly the entry price
Australia has no national or state self-containment certification. What exists is a private scheme run by the Campervan and Motorhome Club of Australia, whose policy defines a self-contained recreational vehicle as one "specifically built for the purpose that along with built in sink, on-board cooking and sleeping facilities, carries a supply of fresh water and can retain all grey and black waste water", advising capacity to retain waste for at least three days. The policy is careful about its own reach: that recognition "allows the vehicle to stay in areas designated as 'self-contained vehicles only' by either the CMCA or other controlling authorities" — may rely on it, not must. We found no council by-law naming the CMCA scheme, and a council's own definition in its local law is a different thing.
What matters practically is that the places councils sanction increasingly require the capability, whoever certifies it. Winchelsea is restricted to fully self-contained vehicles. Central Coast Council's Tasmanian sites are self-contained only, no tents and no fires. The CMCA's RV Friendly Town program asks a participating town for the same shape of facility: its essential criteria include "provision of short term, low cost overnight parking (24/48 hours) for self-contained recreational vehicles, as close as possible to the CBD", along with potable water and a free dump point.
Note the CMCA's own wording — "specifically built for the purpose" — which excludes conversions, and note the three-day advice, because on a three-day tank the binding constraint on a trip stops being the camping rules and becomes the spacing of dump points.
| Where | Maximum stay |
|---|---|
| RV Friendly town (CMCA program) | 24 or 48 hours |
| Winchelsea, Surf Coast Shire (VIC) | 48 hours |
| Rifle Creek Rest Area, Mt Molloy (QLD) | 48 hours |
| Private land, NSW | Two consecutive days, and under 60 days in a 12-month period |
| Rotary Park and the Boulders, Babinda (QLD) | 72 hours, then a 14-day stand-down |
| Central Coast Council sites (TAS) | Three consecutive nights |
| Land you own or may occupy, WA | Five nights in any 28 consecutive days |
| Yorke Peninsula bush-camping permit (SA) | 30 consecutive days, then a 30-day lockout from every council camping reserve after 60 consecutive days camped |
| Victorian state forest | 28 consecutive nights |
Every sanctioned free or cheap stop in this article, shortest first.
The caps are the pattern, and they are about residency
None of them is written to welcome tourism; all of them are written to prevent someone living there. That is why the caps are tightest on the coast and longest in the bush — and why a traveller staying a season needs a different plan from one passing through.
You can be over the limit while asleep in the back
Queensland criminalises being "in charge" of a motor vehicle while over the limit, not merely driving one, and a person asleep in a parked campervan can fall inside it. The offence is in section 79 of the Transport Operations (Road Use Management) Act 1995. As the Queensland Law Handbook summarises the statutory defence, it requires the person to show all three of the following.
They manifested an intention not to drive
"by either not being in the driving compartment at the time or by some action while outside the vehicle (e.g. having told others of their intention or giving the keys to another person)".
They were not so affected as to be incapable of forming that intention
The defence assumes a person capable of deciding not to drive.
The vehicle was parked safely
Where it was left matters as well as who was in which seat.
What follows is narrower than travellers assume. Sleeping in the back rather than the driver's seat is evidence towards that defence, not a guarantee of it — a person found asleep inside a vehicle can still be convicted where the defence is not made out. What the Queensland defence turns on is separating yourself from the driving compartment and from the keys, and being able to show you meant to: telling a companion, or handing the keys over. Travelling alone, with nobody to tell and nowhere to hand them, the defence is harder to make out, not easier — which is an argument for not being over the limit in the van rather than for a particular sleeping position.
This is Queensland only
Other states have in-charge offences we could not verify at their primary text, so nothing in this section should be assumed to apply outside Queensland.
How to check a specific spot before you park
The obvious search — "free camping near [town]" — returns crowd-sourced app entries and blog posts, which record where people have stopped rather than where stopping is allowed. That does not make the apps useless; it makes them the wrong final authority. Use them the way they work: the app finds candidates, the council's own page confirms one. To find which council you are in, the town name plus "council" is usually enough, and the council's site is where both the prohibition and whatever it does sanction are published.
The second habit is treating the sign as the operative rule rather than a summary of one. Councils and land managers amend by-laws and close sites faster than they update tourism pages, and in Western Australia the sign is what creates the permission in the first place. Where a sign and a web page disagree, the sign is what a ranger enforces.
And there is a category of answer this article has not covered because it is not a rule at all: private land with the occupier's permission. Roadhouses, 24-hour service stations, pubs, showgrounds and sports clubs let travellers stay, sometimes for a fee, sometimes for the price of a meal. That is what the WA exception for land you have a legal right to occupy and the NSW two-day rule both contemplate, and on a long inland drive it is often the only lawful option between towns. Ask inside rather than assuming.
Work out whose land it is first
A signed highway rest area belongs to the state road authority; a beachfront car park, reserve or suburban street almost always to the council; a forest or park track to its land manager. They publish separately.
Search the council by name
Query its own site for camping, overnight parking or RV. Councils that prohibit it usually publish the sanctioned alternative on the same pages.
Read the entrance sign as the rule
Limits are defaults signage overrides, closures are often notified only on the ground, and in Western Australia the sign is what makes a rest area a rest area.
Check whether the site requires a self-contained vehicle
No Australian scheme certifies one, but councils increasingly condition the stops they allow on it. Know what your van actually carries.
Check your hire agreement, not just the law
Allowances run from 500 metres of unsealed road to about 12 kilometres, and at JUCY, Star RV and Campervan Village there is no published list to check your route against in advance.
You are too tired to drive, right now
Use a signed rest area and stay in the van — 20 hours in Queensland unless signed otherwise, 24 in WA at a sign-designated area. Read the entrance sign first. In Brisbane, managing fatigue is one of the local law's stated exceptions, though it is not a basis for planning a night.
You are in or near a capital city
Book a licensed park. Melbourne, Brisbane, Adelaide and Darwin prohibit overnight vehicle sleeping on council land centrally; in Sydney time-limited parking produces the same result; and in Perth the state regulation applies whatever the council says.
You want a free site on the coast
Expect to move inland — Babinda for Cairns, Winchelsea for the Surf Coast. Check that council's own page, and note that the inland alternative sometimes belongs to the neighbouring shire.
You are crossing into Western Australia
The default flips. Everywhere else you need a council to prohibit you; in WA camping is prohibited unless regulation 11 permits it. It is the one border in this article that changes the rule you are working from.
You are staying on a friend's or a farm's land
Bounded but real: five nights in any 28 in WA, and in NSW one or two caravans for no more than two consecutive days and under 60 days a year. Both assume the landholder's permission.
The site is down an unsealed road
Check the company before the council. Camperman publishes no allowance at all, and its terms state that any unsealed road voids damage protection cover for the rest of the hire.
You have been drinking
In Queensland a person asleep inside a vehicle can be convicted of being in charge while over the limit; the defence turns on having handed over the keys or told someone you would not drive. We could not confirm the position in other states.
The body most likely to fine you has usually answered your question
Byron Shire lists its holiday parks on the same page as its A$110 fine. Cairns bans its Esplanade and runs Babinda. Surf Coast prohibits its roadsides and signs Winchelsea. Start with the council that would fine you, not with a directory.
Frequently asked questions
Can you sleep in a campervan in NSW?
Yes — there is no general New South Wales law against sleeping in a lawfully parked vehicle, so the question is whether the local council prohibits it. In Sydney the practical answer is no, but for an unexpected reason: no Sydney-area council we could find publishes a by-law naming campervans, and what stops you is ordinary time-limited parking signage. Outside the cities councils prohibit it directly — Byron Shire's on-the-spot fine is A$110, with a A$2,200 maximum through a Court Attendance Notice.
Can you sleep in a campervan in QLD?
At a signed highway rest area, yes, for up to 20 hours "unless signed otherwise". The Queensland Government's own page adds that rest areas "are not camping sites or an accommodation option", so stay in the van rather than setting up. In towns the answer is usually no: Brisbane City Council's Health, Safety and Amenity Local Law 2021 makes sleeping overnight in a vehicle on a road or road-related area an offence, and Cairns Regional Council bans camping — defined to include sleeping in a campervan — on every piece of land it controls.
Can you sleep in a campervan in WA?
Generally no. Camping outside a licensed caravan park or camping ground is itself an offence in Western Australia, carrying a A$200 on-the-spot penalty charged per person rather than per vehicle. The main exception is up to 24 consecutive hours at a roadside rest area designated as such by a traffic sign; an unsigned gravel pull-off does not qualify. The rule is regulation 10 of the Caravan Parks and Camping Grounds Regulations 1997, and regulation 8A confirms that camping includes camping in a vehicle.
How long can you stay at a rest area in Queensland?
Up to 20 hours, unless a sign at that rest area says otherwise. The figure is the Queensland Government's own, and the same page states that rest areas "are not camping sites or an accommodation option" — so it is guidance about stopping rather than permission to camp. A 5pm arrival means leaving by 1pm the next day.
How long can you stay at a rest area in WA?
Up to 24 consecutive hours, but only at a rest area designated by a traffic sign as one that may be used for resting, stopping or camping in a vehicle. Unlike Queensland's figure this is an express statutory permission to camp, under regulation 11(1)(b) of the Caravan Parks and Camping Grounds Regulations 1997. Away from a signed rest area the permission does not exist, and you are back under the state's general prohibition.
Is it illegal to sleep in your car in Australia?
There is no national law either permitting or prohibiting it. Whether it is lawful depends on who controls the ground: the state road authority at a rest area, the council on a street or reserve, a land manager in a park or forest. Western Australia is the one state with a general camping prohibition operating state-wide.
Can you sleep in a campervan on the side of the road in Australia?
Only where a sign says it is a rest area, in most places. The distinction that matters is between a signed rest area and an unsigned pull-off or road shoulder. In Western Australia the difference is decisive: the 24-hour permission attaches only to a sign-designated rest area. In Queensland the 20 hours applies at rest areas, and a council's local law may separately prohibit sleeping on a road or road-related area — which in Brisbane covers footpaths, dividing strips and road shoulders.
What is the fine for illegal camping in Australia?
The confirmed figures are smaller than the folklore. Western Australia charges A$200 on the spot, per person rather than per vehicle, with a A$2,000 maximum on conviction. Noosa Shire in Queensland announced A$333 in 2025, up from A$309 the year before. Yorke Peninsula in South Australia issues a A$312.50 expiation notice. Byron Shire in New South Wales publishes A$110 on the spot, up to A$2,200 at court. Cairns, Brisbane and Darwin confirm they issue on-the-spot fines without publishing the amount. Council amounts change, so check the current page.
Can you sleep in a campervan in a beach car park in Australia?
Almost never, and two layers say so. A beachfront car park is council land, and coastal councils are among the strictest — Cairns bans its Esplanade and beaches outright. Separately your hire agreement very likely prohibits beaches: Campervan Village charges up to A$2,000 where GPS tracking shows a beach, salt water or a prohibited area, even where no damage is found, and JUCY, Star RV and Travellers Autobarn each charge A$250.
Can you free camp in Victoria's state forests?
Yes. Camping in a Victorian state forest needs no permit, subject to staying "no longer than 28 consecutive nights" and setting up "at least 20 metres from waterways". It is the clearest case in this article of public land where camping needs no paperwork — though Victorian councils are as strict as any on the coast, and the unsealed access road may breach your hire agreement before the camping rules become relevant.
Do I need a self-contained campervan in Australia?
No law requires one, and Australia has no equivalent of New Zealand's self-containment certificate — the CMCA scheme is a private club accreditation rather than a government one. But the free and cheap sites councils sanction increasingly restrict themselves to self-contained vehicles, so the capability decides which of the better stops are open to you even though no certificate does.
Can I be charged with drink-driving while asleep in my campervan?
In Queensland, yes. Section 79 of the Transport Operations (Road Use Management) Act 1995 criminalises being in charge of a vehicle while over the limit, and a person found asleep inside a vehicle can be convicted unless the statutory defence is made out. Sleeping in the back rather than the driver's seat is evidence towards that defence, not a guarantee; handing the keys to a sober companion is worth more. We could not verify the primary text for other states, so nothing here should be assumed to apply outside Queensland.
Sources & freshness
Rest-area limits and state law: the Queensland Government's rest-areas page (last updated 13 May 2021); the Government of Western Australia's guidance on camping outside caravan parks; Main Roads WA's Policy and Guidelines: Rest Areas on Main Roads and Highways, February 2023. Western Australian law is quoted from the Caravan Parks and Camping Grounds Regulations 1997, consolidation 02-i0-00 as at 1 September 2024 — regulations 8A, 10 and 11 and Schedule 4 — as amended by SL 2024/162, gazetted 7 August 2024, and from the Caravan Parks and Camping Grounds Act 1995 as at 7 November 2020. Queensland's national park penalties are from section 89 of the Nature Conservation (Protected Areas Management) Regulation 2017. The New South Wales rest-area position is from a Department of Planning circular of July 2010, which is archived and no longer current, and is cited only as evidence that the state's approach has long been signage-based.
Councils: the City of Busselton's camping and vehicles brochure; the Shire of Exmouth's camping document; Byron Shire Council's illegal camping page; Noosa Shire Council's 2024 and 2025 media releases; Yorke Peninsula Council's Bush Camping Permit Terms and Conditions, document IS274 of 13 June 2024; Brisbane City Council's camping-on-a-road page; Cairns Regional Council's camping pages; the City of Melbourne's Activities Local Law 2024; Surf Coast Shire's Winchelsea page; the City of Adelaide's Local Government Land By-law 2018; the City of Perth's Thoroughfares and Public Places Local Law 2017; the City of Canning's local law; the City of Darwin's camping-in-public-places page; and Central Coast Council in Tasmania. Land managers: NSW National Parks, Parks Victoria, Parks South Australia, DBCA in Western Australia and the Central Land Council. Victorian state forest rules are from the Victorian Government's camping page; Tasmania's from the Department of Treasury and Finance's January 2019 competitive neutrality policy statement. Self-containment material is from the CMCA's own Self Contained Vehicle Policy and RV Friendly Town brochure.
Hire-company figures are each company's own published terms, read 20 September 2026: Apollo, Britz, Maui and Mighty share Tourism Holdings' Summary of Rental Conditions Australia, version 15 of 11 August 2026, and its Australian Rental Vehicle Agreement; JUCY's Customer Booking Terms and Conditions valid from 1 May 2026; Travellers Autobarn's Australian terms and conditions effective 19 June 2026; Camperman's terms and conditions updated May 2026; Campervan Village's Australian vehicle rental agreement, which carries no version number or effective date; Spaceships' Australian terms and conditions; and Star RV's Australian FAQ. Those figures and each company's road restrictions are set out in full in our guide to campervan excess and bonds in Australia. Queensland's in-charge drink-driving offence is summarised from the Queensland Law Handbook's treatment of section 79, not from the Act itself, and is attributed that way in the text.
Deliberately absent, because no authority's own publication could be found for them: an A$800 Gold Coast infringement; a Queensland penalty for overstaying the 20-hour rest-area limit; a Transport for NSW rest-area hour figure; a NSW penalty in the tens of thousands; Victorian, Tasmanian, Darwin, Alice Springs and Litchfield council camping fine amounts; the penalties for camping outside a designated site in Victorian, Western Australian and NSW parks; NSW National Parks and Parks SA nightly fees; Northern Territory rest-area limits and park pass prices; and the current dollar value of a Queensland penalty unit, which is why section 89's penalties are given in units rather than converted. The Central Land Council publishes two inconsistent penalties for unauthorised entry, so neither is quoted.
State transport department websites in South Australia, Victoria and the Northern Territory, the New South Wales and Victorian legislation portals, AustLII, Queensland's parks department and several council sites could not be read during research, which is why those jurisdictions carry more gaps here than Western Australia and Queensland. The Australian Capital Territory was not examined for this article, so no claim is made about it. Council penalties are indexed and move — Noosa's rose between two consecutive campaigns — so every amount here is a dated snapshot.
Official sources
- Rest areas · Queensland Government · Last updated 13 May 2021; read 20 September 2026. "General and recreational vehicles can stop at a rest area for up to 20 hours unless signed otherwise"; rest areas "are not camping sites or an accommodation option".
- Caravan Parks and Camping Grounds Regulations 1997 · Government of Western Australia · Consolidation 02-i0-00 as at 1 September 2024, amended by SL 2024/162; read 20 September 2026. Regulations 8A, 10, 11 and Schedule 4.
- Caravan Parks and Camping Grounds Act 1995 · Government of Western Australia · As at 7 November 2020; read 20 September 2026. Section 28 — the regulation-making power and the A$5,000 ceiling.
- Temporary accommodation and camping outside of caravan parks · Government of Western Australia · Read 20 September 2026. "No approval is required to use these rest stops for up to 24 consecutive hours only."
- Nature Conservation (Protected Areas Management) Regulation 2017 · Queensland Government · Read 20 September 2026. Section 89, unlawful camping: 20 penalty units, and 80 against a regulatory notice.
- Camping · Victorian Government · Read 20 September 2026. State forest camping needs no permit: "stay no longer than 28 consecutive nights"; "set up at least 20 metres from waterways".
- Applying Competitive Neutrality Principles to Public Camping in Tasmania · Tasmanian Department of Treasury and Finance · January 2019; read 20 September 2026. The 60 km market area and the 10 per cent threshold.
- Campground and accommodation booking FAQs · NSW National Parks and Wildlife Service · Read 20 September 2026. "Online booking is required for all campgrounds and hard roof accommodation across NSW."
- Where and when to camp · Department of Biodiversity, Conservation and Attractions (WA) · Read 20 September 2026. "Camping in Western Australia's parks is only permitted in designated campgrounds."
- Camping essentials · National Parks and Wildlife Service South Australia · Read 20 September 2026. "Book your campsite online or in-person with our booking agents before you go."
- Permits · Central Land Council · Read 20 September 2026. Transit permits for non-public roads through Aboriginal freehold land; on the Tjukaruru Road "camping is only allowed at the Kaltukatjara (Docker River) campground".
- Illegal camping · Byron Shire Council · Read 20 September 2026. "An on-the-spot fine for unauthorised camping is $110"; Court Attendance Notices to a maximum of $2,200.
Keep reading
Compare live prices across every vendor
These are collected averages. Run a live search for real-time availability and exact prices for your dates.
Search all vendors